The British Academy announces 2022 prizes and medals

6 Sep 2022

The British Academy today awards prizes and medals to distinguished academics in the SHAPE subjects (the Social Sciences, Humanities and the Arts for People and the Economy) in recognition of significant contributions to their disciplines.

This year’s winners include linguists, classicists, theologists and archaeologists whose accomplishments have made a lasting impact on the humanities and social sciences.

The British Academy awards:

  • the Brian Barry Prize in Political Science, in partnership with Cambridge University Press and the British Journal of Political Science (BJPolS), to Associate Professor Chiara Cordelli (Associate Professor in the Department of Political Science at the University of Chicago), for her essay Freeing People, Restricting Capital.
  • the Rose Mary Crawshay Prize to The Poet’s Mistake (Princeton University Press, 2020) by Dr Erica McAlpine (Associate Professor of English at the University of Oxford and the A. C. Cooper Tutorial Fellow in English at St Edmund Hall)
  • the Derek Allen Prize to Professor Suzanne G. Cusick (Professor of Music at New York University) in recognition of her extensive work on music, gender and sexuality in early modern Italy and contemporary North America
  • the Kenyon Medal for work in the fields of classical studies and archaeology to T.P. Wiseman FBA (Professor Emeritus of Classics and Ancient History at the University of Exeter) for his enormous contributions to the fields of Roman history and literature
  • the Landscape Archaeology Medal to Professor Charles French (Professor Emeritus of Geoarchaeology in the McBurney Laboratory of the McDonald Institute for Archaeological Research, University of Cambridge), in recognition of over 40 years of innovative and cutting-edge work and global-reaching research
  • the Grahame Clark Medal to Dr Alex Gibson (Retired Reader in British Prehistory at the University of Bradford and Honorary Research Associate at the University of York), for his significant, much cited, contributions to the study of British prehistory, especially the Neolithic and Bronze Ages
  • the Burkitt Medal for Biblical Studies to Emeritus Professor Richard B. Hays (George Washington Ivey Professor Emeritus of New Testament at Duke University), for his internationally recognised and influential work on the Gospels, the letters of Paul, and New Testament ethics
  • the Edward Ullendorf Medal to Professor Werner Diem (Professor Emeritus of Cologne University), for his significant contributions to Arabic and Semitic Philology through his numerous publications and research
  • the Neil and Saras Smith Medal for a lifetime of achievement in the field of linguistics to Professor Sheila Blumstein (Professor Emerita of Cognitive, Linguistic and Psychological Sciences at Brown University), for her outstanding contributions to linguistics
  • the Serena Medal to Professor Zygmunt Barański (Emeritus Serena Professor of Italian at the University of Cambridge and Emeritus R. L. Canala Professor of Romance Languages and Literatures at the University of Notre Dame), for his incisive and meticulous research as a medievalist, and as a world-leading expert in Dante’s intellectual formation
  • the Sir Israel Gollancz Prize to Professor David Lawton (Professor of English at Durham University and Emeritus Professor at Washington University in St Louis, USA) for his lifetime contributions to Middle English studies and field-defining research.

The Academy will award each prize and medal to the recipients at a lunchtime ceremony at 10-11 Carlton House Terrace on Tuesday 11 October.

Contact the press office

For further information contact the Press Office on [email protected]  / 07500 010 432.

Sign up to our email newsletters