Burkitt Medal for Biblical Studies

The Burkitt Medal is awarded annually in recognition of special service to Biblical Studies, for Hebrew Bible studies (in odd years) and in New Testament studies (in even years).

History of the prize

The award was established in 1923 following the decision of Professor Francis Crawford Burkitt (1864–1935), elected a Fellow of the Academy in 1905, to strike a number of bronze medals for presentation by the Academy to scholars of biblical studies. After his death in 1935 the awards became known as Burkitt Medals. The medal was first awarded in 1925.


a) In 2021 the Burkitt Medal will be awarded for special service to Hebrew Bible studies.

b) In 2022 eligible nominations must be for special service to New Testament studies.

How to nominate

Nominations for the Burkitt Medal are currently closed. Nominations will open again in December 2021.

2020 winner

Burkitt Medal - Beverly Gaventa.jpg

Professor Beverly Gaventa for her long and distinguished contribution to New Testament scholarship, to the discipline and Academy through a range of positions of responsibility, and for her mentoring of younger scholars.

Beverly Roberts Gaventa is Distinguished Professor of New Testament Interpretation at Baylor University, as well as Helen H.P. Manson Professor of New Testament Literature and Exegesis Emerita at Princeton Theological Seminary.  In addition to numerous articles and edited volumes, she has written Our Mother Saint Paul (2007), The Acts of the Apostles (2003), I and II Thessalonians (1998), Mary: Glimpses of the Mother of Jesus (1995), and From Darkness to Light: Aspects of Conversion in the New Testament (1986). Her most recent book is When in Romans: An Invitation to Linger with the Gospel according to Paul, published in 2016.
In 2016 Gaventa was president of the Society of Biblical Literature, the largest professional organization of biblical scholars in the world. She is also a member of the Studiorum Novi Testamenti Societas, the Catholic Biblical Association, the Duodecim Theological Society, and the American Theological Society. She has served on the editorial boards of a number of scholarly journals and is an editor-at-large for Christian Century.  She has lectured widely in the U.S. as well as in Canada, Europe, South Africa, and Australia.

Being named for the Burkitt medal is a singular honor, for which I am deeply grateful to my colleagues in the British Academy.

– Professor Beverly Gaventa, July 2020

Previous winners

2019 Professor John J. Collins, Yale Divinity School

2018 Professor Christopher Rowland, University of Oxford

2017 Professor Takamitsu Muraoka, University of Leiden

2016  Professor Dr Dr h.c. Barbara Aland, University of Münster

2015  Professor David J A Clines, University of Sheffield

2014  Professor N Thomas Wright, University of St Andrews 

2013  Professor Ronald Ernest Clements DD, King's College London

2012  Professor Christopher Tuckett, University of Oxford

2011  Professor Andrew Mayes, formerly Erasmus Smith Professor of Hebrew, Trinity College, Dublin

2010  Professor Ulrich Luz, Emeritus Professor of New Testament Studies, University of Bern

2009  Revd Professor Ernest Nicholson FBA, formerly Provost of Oriel College, Oxford

2008  Professor Richard Bauckham FBA, FRSE, Professor of New Testament Studies and Bishop Wardlaw Professor, University of St Andrews

2007  Professor Jan Alberto Soggin

2006  Professor Graham Stanton

2005  Revd Professor Pierre-Maurice Bogaert, OSB

2004  Professor Morna D Hooker

2003  Professor Bertil Albrektson

2002  Professor Gerd Theissen

2001  Professor Rudolf Smend FBA

Sign up to our email newsletters