Serena Medal

The Serena Medal is awarded annually for eminent services towards the furtherance of the study of Italian history, philosophy or music, literature, art, or economics.

It was endowed by Mr Arthur Serena after Great Britain’s alliance with Italy in the First World War. The medal was first awarded in 1920.


In 2020 eligible nominations must be for scholars in Italian Philosophy. Nominations must show how the scholarship has contributed to the furtherance of Italian studies in the UK.

In 2021 eligible nominations must be for scholars inItalian Economics.

2019 winner (Italian History)

Serena Medal 2019 winner

Professor John Foot for his wide-ranging series of books on Italian history and culture.

John Foot was educated at Oxford and Cambridge Universities. He is currently Professor of Modern Italian History in the Department of Italian, University of Bristol. He was previously Professor of Modern Italian History in the Department of Italian at UCL. He is the author of seven books on Italian history and culture, including: Milan since the Miracle. City, Culture and Identity (1991), Calcio. A History of Italian Football (2006), Italy’s Divided Memory (2010), The Man Who Closed the Asylums: Franco Basaglia and the Revolution in Mental Health Care (2015) and The Archipelago. Italy since 1945 (2018). He is Fellow of the Royal Historical Society and has been visting fellow at the Australian Catholic University and La Sapienza University (Rome). His books are translated into Italian and other languages. He co-edited the journal Modern Italy from 2010-2014. He is currently a Leverhulme Major Research Fellow working on the history of Italian fascism.

"I am delighted and proud to have won the Serena Medal for 2019. It is incredible to be in such exalted company and I am particularly pleased that it has been awarded for the range of my work, from football to psychiatry to memory to cycling."

- Professor John Foot, August 2019

Previous winners

2018 Professor Roger Parker, King's College London

2017 Professor Martin McLaughlin, University of Oxford

2016  Professor Geoffrey Nowell-Smith, Queen Mary University of London

2015  Dr Brian A’Hearn, University of Oxford

2014  Professor Chris Wickham FBA, University of Oxford

2013  Professor Pier Vincenzo Mengaldo, University of Padua

2012  Professor Richard Bellamy, University College London

2011  Professor Patricia Fortini Brown, Emeritus Professor, Princeton University

2010  Professor Anna Lepschy, Emeritus Professor, University College London

2009  Professor Giorgio Chittolini, Professor of Medieval History, University of Milan

2008  Professor Philip Gossett, Robert W Reneker Distinguished Service Professor of Music, University of Chicago and Professore Ordinario “di chiara fama”, Università “La Sapienza”, Rome

2007  Professor Conor Fahy

2006  Professor Paul Ginsborg

2005  Mr Ronald Lightbown

2004  Professor William Weaver

2003  Professor Stuart Woolf

2002  Professor John Woodhouse

2001  Professor Michael Hirst FBA

2000  Professor Giulio Lepschy FBA

Sign up to our email newsletters