British Academy Book Prize for Global Cultural Understanding

The British Academy Book Prize, worth £25,000, is awarded annually for a non-fiction book that promotes global cultural understanding.

About the Prize

Having recently celebrated its 11th year, the £25,000 Prize is awarded annually for a non-fiction book that has made an outstanding contribution to global cultural understanding for a wider public audience. The British Academy is the UK’s national academy for humanities and social sciences, and eligible books come from the subjects that fall within those disciplines, from archaeology, history and psychology to philosophy, languages and cultural studies.

The 2023 British Academy Book Prize brought together books that demonstrate rigorous original and high-quality research, which are accessible and engaging to read.

Courting India: England, Mughal India and the Origins of Empire by Nandini Das was selected as the winner of the 2023 prize.

Key dates

Submission period opens 15 January 2024
Submission period closes 29 February 2024
Shortlist announcement 10 September 2024
Shortlist event 21 October 2024
Winner announcement 22 October 2024


General enquiries about the Prize should be sent to [email protected].
All media enquiries regarding the Prize should be directed to [email protected].

Sign up to our email newsletters