Skip Content

Leverhulme Medal & Prize

The Leverhulme Medal and Prize, worth £5000, is awarded every three years for significant contribution to knowledge and understanding in a field within the humanities and social sciences.

The award is made in partnership with The Leverhulme Trust. The first award was in 2002, to mark the Academy's Centenary.


Eligible nominations must be for significant contribution to knowledge and understanding alternately in the humanities or social sciences. In 2018 eligible nominations must be for significant contribution to the social sciences. 

How to nominate

Nominations may only be made by Fellows of the British Academy. Nomination forms are available from the Fellows area of the British Academy website.

 Nominating body: Humanities Group or Social Sciences Group, in rotation. 

Previous Winners

2015 Professor Sir Richard J Evans FBA, University of Cambridge

2012 Dame Marilyn Strathern FBA, University of Cambridge

2009 Dr Sebastian Brock FBA, Emeritus Reader in Syriac Studies, University of Oxford, and Emeritus Fellow of Wolfson College, Oxford

2005 Sir Tony Wrigley, FBA, formerly Master, Corpus Christi College, Cambridge and Past President of the British Academy

2002 Professor Sir Ernst Gombrich FBA and Professor Sir Raymond Firth FBA

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.