Skip Content

Kenyon Medal

The Kenyon Medal is awarded biennially in recognition of work in the fields of classical studies and archaeology.

The award was endowed by Sir Frederic Kenyon (1863–1952), elected a Fellow in 1903 and serving in turn as the Academy’s sixth President and second Secretary. The Medal was awarded for the first time in 1957.


Eligible nominations can be for any scholar whose work relates to classical studies and archaeology.

How to nominate

Nominations may only be made by Fellows of the British Academy. This medal will next be awarded in 2019. 

Nominating body: Sections H1 and H7

Previous Winners (2002 onwards)

2017  Dr Joyce Reynolds FBA

2015  Nigel Wilson FBA

2013  Professor Alan Cameron FBA 

2011  Emeritus Professor David Peacock

2009  Dr James Adams FBA

2007  Professor Sir Geoffrey Lloyd FBA

2005  Professor Fergus Millar FBA

2003  Professor John Nicolas Coldstream FBA

2002  Dr Martin Litchfield West FBA

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.