Skip Content

Contact the British Academy

The British Academy's address is:

10-11 Carlton House Terrace
London
SW1Y 5AH

Tel: 020 7969 5200   
Fax: 020 7969 530

Nearest tube: Charing Cross (Cockspur Street exit), Piccadilly Circus (Lower Regent Street exit).  
Buses: Piccadilly Circus, Lower Regent Street, Haymarket, Trafalgar Square.  
Wheelchair access: The British Academy has access for most wheelchairs. To find out more please see details of our disabled access arrangements.


British Academy Staff

Please send your email to the appropriate department below.

Alternatively, for general enquiries please call +44 (0)20 7969 5200.

Chief Executive Office

Alun Evans is the Chief Executive of the British Academy. He can be contacted via his PA:

Judith Smyth
020 7969 5255
chiefexec@thebritishacademy.ac.uk

Sir David Cannadine is the President of the British Academy. He can be contacted via his assistant:

Maria Agius
Assistant to the President and Chief Executive
020 7969 5279
mariaa@thebritishacademy.ac.uk

Events

Please browse our events programme before contacting us. Information about registering for an event can be found on the relevant event listing.

For general event enquiries please call the events team on 020 7969 5200 or email: events@thebritishacademy.ac.uk

Fellowship

Information about election to the Fellowship is available online. Please note that all candidates must be proposed by the existing Fellowship. 

Marion Paterson
Fellowship Manager
020 7969 5259
thefellowship@thebritishacademy.ac.uk

Finance 

Please contact finance@thebritishacademy.ac.uk

Funding

For more information, including details about the research funding schemes available, please visit the funding opportunities page.

You can also go to the British Academy’s grants management system, Flexi-Grant, at https://britishacademy.flexigrant.com. Please email queries to flexigrant@thebritishacademy.ac.uk.

If your question is not answered online, email your query to the relevant address below. Please be aware that the office experiences a high volume of requests, especially at peak times around deadlines. We aim to answer all requests within a reasonable timeframe.

Apex awards: APEX@royalsociety.org

International Partnership and Mobility: partnerships@thebritishacademy.ac.uk

Newton International Fellowships: overseas@thebritishacademy.ac.uk

Newton Mobility Grants and Newton Advanced Fellowships: Newtonfund@thebritishacademy.ac.uk

Postdoctoral Fellowships and BARSEA awards:posts@thebritishacademy.ac.uk

For BA/JISC Digital Humanities, Mid-Career Fellowships, Neil Ker Memorial Fund, Senior Research Fellowships, Small Research Grants, Special Funds, the Stein Arnold Exploration Fund and Wolfson Professorships: grants@thebritishacademy.ac.uk

Fundraising

Information about making a donation to the Academy is available online.

To find out more please email development@thebritishacademy.ac.uk or contact:

Jo Hopkins
Director of Development

020 7969 5286  
j.hopkins@thebritishacademy.ac.uk

Michelle Waterman
Head of Development

020 7969 5290  
m.waterman@thebritishacademy.ac.uk

Future of the Corporation

Henry Richards
020 7969 5263
h.richards@thebritishacademy.ac.uk

Further information and resources about the Future of the Corporation Programme are available here

Human Resources

hr@thebritishacademy.ac.uk

Please note that current vacancies are available online.

International

For more information about the Academy’s international programmes and activities, please visit the international page.

If your question is not answered online, email your query to the relevant address below.

Global Professorships; Visiting Fellowships: internationalgrants@thebritishacademy.ac.uk

Knowledge Frontiers: International Interdisciplinary Research Projects; Tackling the UK’s International Challenges Programme: internationalchallenges@thebritishacademy.ac.uk

Sustainable Development Programme; Cities & Infrastructure Programme: gcrf@thebritishacademy.ac.uk

Early Childhood Development Programme: ecd@thebritishacademy.ac.uk

Tackling Modern Slavery, Human Trafficking and Child Labour in Modern Business Programme: badfid@thebritishacademy.ac.uk

Research and Innovation Talent Visa: cbba@thebritishacademy.ac.uk

For Writing Workshops, JSPS Postdoctoral Fellowship Programme and all other queries related to the Academy’s international work: international@thebritishacademy.ac.uk

IT

Please contact it@thebritishacademy.ac.uk

Library and Archive

Karen Syrett 
Librarian/Archivist
020 7969 5314
k.syrett@thebritishacademy.ac.uk

Policy

Please note that all our reports are available online. You can find out more about our policy work here.

To find out more about our public policy, email publicpolicy@thebritishacademy.ac.uk.

To find out more about our higher education and skills policy, email highereducation@thebritishacademy.ac.uk.

Press

Please see the Press Office page for recent press releases.

For media enquiries, interviews and images, please email press@thebritishacademy.ac.uk.

Prizes and medals

Information about our prizes and medals is available online. To find out more, email prizes@thebritishacademy.ac.uk.

Publications

The British Academy produces a wide range of publications, for academic and more general readerships.

To find out more, email pubs@thebritishacademy.ac.uk.

Venue hire and room booking

Our stunning building is the ideal location for a wedding reception or conference, conveniently located in the heart of Central London. To contact us about hiring our facilities speak to a team member at 10-11 Carlton House Terrace.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close