British Academy to host Samuel Johnson Prize 2015 Shortlist Event

1 Sep 2015

The British Academy will be hosting this year's Samuel Johnson Prize shortlist event, which will take place on Tuesday 27 October.

Chaired by James Naughtie (BBC Radio 4's Today Programme), the event will offer the chance to hear from the authors shortlisted for the 2015 Samuel Johnson Prize. This will be followed by audience Q&A and a book signing. 

The Samuel Johnson Prize for Non-Fiction is the UK's premier prize for non-fiction books, covering subjects from current affairs, history, politics, science, sport, travel, biography, autobiography and the arts. Past winners of the prestigious £20,000 prize include Antony Beevor, Margaret MacMillan and James Shapiro.

The chair of judges for 2015 is Pulitzer prize-winning historian and journalist Anne Applebaum, supported by Associate Editor at The Economist Emma Duncan, New Scientist Editor Sumit Paul-Choudhury, Oxford University’s Professor Rana Mitter FBA and former Controller of Film and Drama and head of Film 4 Tessa Ross.

The 2015 Prize shortlist will be announced on Sunday 11 October, confirmed speakers will be announced shortly after.

The event is free, but registration is required. Further information is available here: 

Contact the press office

For further information contact the Press Office on [email protected]  / 07500 010 432.

Sign up to our email newsletters