Skip Content

Neil & Saras Smith Medal for Linguistics

The Neil & Saras Medal is awarded annually for lifetime achievement in the scholarly study of linguistics.

The award was established in 2013 by Professor Neil Smith, elected a Fellow of the British Academy in 1999 and Emeritus Professor of Linguistics at University College London. This prize was first awarded in 2014.


Eligible nominations can be for a linguist of any nationality whose career has demonstrated the highest standards of achievement and scholarship. Preference will be given to theoretical linguists, though all linguists will be eligible. 

How to nominate

Nominations may only be made by Fellows of the British Academy. Nomination forms are available from the Fellows area of the British Academy website.

Nominating body: Section H4

Previous Winners

2017  Professor Bernard Comrie FBA, University of California, Santa Barbara 

2016  Sir John Lyons FBA, University of Cambridge

2015  Professor William Labov, University of Pennsylvania

2014  Professor Noam Chomsky, Massachusetts Institute of Technology 


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.