Skip Content

Philosophical Lectures

A bequest from Miss Henriette Hertz (d. 1913) established a fund that was intended both to support three lecture series, and more generally to enable the Academy to support scholarly research and publication. The Philosophical Lectures were one of the lecture series. The lecture was first delivered in 1914. From 1993 to 2001, the lectures were converted into a series of symposia. The series of single lectures was revived in 2015.

Click on the blue links for outputs from the lectures or event information.

2018  Free to think? Epistemic authority and thinking for oneself, Ursula Coope (text | audio)

2015  ‘We don’t torture’: Moral resolutions, temptation, and the doctrine of double effect, by Richard Holton (text | audio)


2001  Bayes’s Theorem

1996  Philosophical Logic

1993  Philosophy of Mind


1991  Two Types of Naturalism, by T R Baldwin (text)

1990  Advice to Philosophers: Three New Leaves to Turn Over, by Edward Craig (text)

1989  Honour Among Thieves, by Martin Hollis (text)

1988  Consciousness and Content, by Colin McGinn (text)

1987  Understanding Logical Constants: A Realist’s Account, by Christopher Peacocke (text)

1986  Philosophy and Philosophy Of, by J R Lucas (text)

1985  Facts and Certainty, by Crispin Wright (text)

1984  Knowledge, Truth, and Reliability, by Simon Blackburn (text)

1983  Self-Creation, by Jonathan Glover (text)

1982  Criteria, Defeasibility, and Knowledge, by John McDowell (text)

1982  Ceasing to Exist, by Peter Winch (text)

1981  The Theory of Descriptions, by T J Smiley (text)

1979  The Possibility of Prediction, by D H Mellor (text)

1978  Prudence, Morality and the Prisoner’s Dilemma, by Derek Parfit (text)

1976  Truth, Invention, and the Meaning of Life, by David Wiggins (text)

1975  Probability — The One and the Many, by L Jonathan Cohen (text)

1974  Times, Beginnings and Causes, by G E M Anscombe (text)

1973  The Justification of Deduction, by M A E Dummett (text)

1972  In Defence of Objectivity, by Mary Hesse (text)

1971  Intention and Uncertainty, by H P Grice (text)

1970  Morality and Art, by Philippa Foot (text)

1969  What’s Really Wrong with Phenomenalism? by J L Mackie (text)

1968  The Objects of the Five Senses, by J O Urmson (text)

1966  Imagination and the Self, by Bernard Williams (text)

1965  Some Problems about Time, by P T Geach (text)

1964  Predicting and Deciding, by David Pears

1963  Descriptivism, by R M Hare

1962  Freedom and Resentment, by P F Strawson

1961  The Metamorphosis of Metaphysics, by John Wisdom

1960  On the Sources of Knowledge and of Ignorance, by Karl R Popper