Skip Content

Grahame Clark Medal

This medal, awarded biennially, acknowledges distinguished achievements involving recent contributions to the study of prehistoric archaeology.

This medal was endowed in 1992 by Professor Sir Grahame Clark, a Fellow of the Academy from 1951 to his death in 1995. The medal was awarded for the first time in 1993.


Eligible nominations can be for academic achievement involving recent contributions to the study of prehistoric archaeology.

How to nominate

Nominations may only be made by Fellows of the British Academy. Nomination forms are available to download from the Fellows are of the British Academy website. 

Nominating body: Section H7

Previous Winners

2016 Professor Kristian Kristiansen, University of Gothenburg

2014 Dr Joan Oates FBA, University of Cambridge

2012 Professor Charles Higham FBA FRSNZ, University of Otago, New Zealand

2010 Professor Richard Bradley FBA, Professor of Archeology, University of Reading

2008 Professor Paul Mellars FBA, Professor of Pre-History and Human Evolution, University of Cambridge

2006 Professor Geoffrey J Wainwright MBE FSA

2004 Professor Barrington W Cunliffe CBE FBA

2002 Dr John Wymer

1999 Professor D J Mulvaney FBA

1997 Professor J D Clark

1995 Dr John Coles

1993 Professor Stuart Piggott

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.