Wolfson Research Professorships Awards 2017

Funded by

The British Academy Wolfson Professorships, each at the level of £165,000 over three years, recognise the most outstanding scholars in the UK, enabling them to concentrate on a specific research programme while freed from teaching and administrative commitments. Four Professorships were awarded in 2017.

Professor Hasok Chang

Hans Rausing Professor of History and Philosophy of Science, University of Cambridge, Department of History and Philosophy of Science
Title of research: Philosophy of Active Scientific Knowledge

Professor Ian Leigh

Professor of Law, Durham University, Law
Title of research: Freedom of Conscience: Emerging Challenges and Future Prospects

Professor Yaron Matras

Professor of Linguistics, University of Manchester, Linguistics & English Language, School of Arts, Languages & Cultures
Title of research: Toward a new epistemology of urban multilingualism

Dr Paul Seaward

Director, History of Parliament Trust
Title of research: Time, memory, space, culture and power: Parliament as cultural practice, Reformation to Referendum

Sign up to our email newsletters