Skip Content

Professor Nicholas Cook FBA

Theory and analysis; performance studies including empirical approaches; multimedia; cross-cultural interaction; Beethoven; Schenker
Professor Nicholas Cook FBA profile picture

About this Fellow

Nicholas Cook is 1684 Professor of Music at the University of Cambridge; he previously worked at the Universities of Hong Kong, Sydney, and Southampton, as well as Royal Holloway, University of London. He works across many areas of music studies, and his books include A Guide to Musical Analysis (1987); Music, Imagination, and Culture (1990); Beethoven: Symphony No. 9 (1993); Analysis Through Composition (1996), Analysing Musical Multimedia (1998), and Music: A Very Short Introduction (1998), which is published or forthcoming in sixteen languages. The Schenker Project: Culture, Race, and Music Theory in Fin-de-siecle Vienna won the SMT's 2010 Wallace Berry Award. His most recent book, based on his work as Director of the AHRC Research Centre for the History and Analysis of Recorded Music, is Beyond the Score: Music as Performance (2013), while he recently completed an AHRC-funded study of recordings of Webern's Piano Variations Op. 27. A book entitled Music as Creative Practice (his contribution to the AHRC Research Centre for Music as Creative Practice) is nearing completion; he is also working on a project entitled 'Music encounters: studies in relational musicology', for which he was awarded a British Academy Wolfson Professorship. He is a Fellow of Academia Europaea.



Current post

  • Emeritus 1684 Professor of Music, University of Cambridge

Past Appointments

  • Lecturer in Music, The University of Hong Kong, 1982 - 1990
  • Professor, Research Professor of Music, University of Southampton, 1990
  • Research Professor of Music, University of Southampton, University of Southampton, 1999
  • Research Professor of Music, University of Southampton, University of Southampton, 1999
  • 1684 Professor of Music, University of Cambridge, University of Cambridge, 2009

British Academy Appointments

  • Member of Council, 2008 - 2011


Beethoven: Symphony no. 9

Nicholas Cook, 2003 Cambridge University Press

Music: a very short introduction

Nicholas Cook, 1998 Oxford University Press

Other History of Art and Music Fellows

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.