Samuel Johnson Prize 2015 Shortlist Event

Tue 27 Oct 2015, 18:30 - 20:00

The British Academy, 10-11 Carlton House Terrace, London, SW1Y 5AH

This special evening at the British Academy comprised of authors shortlisted for this year’s Samuel Johnson Prize for Non-Fiction discussing  their books.

The Samuel Johnson Prize for Non-Fiction is the UK's premier prize for  non-fiction books, covering subjects from current affairs, history,  politics, science, sport, travel, biography, autobiography and the arts.  Past winners of the £20,000 prize include Antony Beevor,  Margaret MacMillan and James Shapiro.

The chair of judges for  2015 was Pulitzer prize-winning historian and journalist Anne Applebaum,  supported by Associate Editor at The Economist Emma Duncan, New  Scientist Editor Sumit Paul-Choudhury, Oxford University’s Professor  Rana Mitter FBA and former Controller of Film and Drama and head of Film  4 Tessa Ross. Find out more about the Samuel Johnson Prize


Jonathan Bate FBA, Author of Ted Hughes: The Unauthorised Life

Laurence Scott, Author of The Four-Dimensional Human

Emma Sky, Author of The Unravelling: High Hopes and Missed Opportunities in Iraq

Listen to an audio recording of this event. 

Sign up to our email newsletters