Policy Forum: Constitutional Conventions

Mon 2 Mar 2015, 00:00

The British Academy, 10-11 Carlton House Terrace, SW1Y 5AH

 All three main parties expressed interest in a constitutional convention. The Labour party proposed a constitutional convention after the Scottish independence referendum in September, to help plan further constitutional reforms. Conservative and Liberal Democrat responses were to be found in the coalition government’s White Paper on The Implications of Devolution for England (Cm 8969, Dec 2014) which contained a separate chapter on a constitutional convention, with thoughts about its scope, timescale and terms of reference.

The purpose of this private seminar was to take that thinking further, by discussing in greater detail the agenda and initial work programme of a constitutional convention, its timetable, and links with ongoing constitutional reforms. 

This seminar was held in partnership with the UCL Constitution Unit. 


Professor Vernon Bogdanor CBE FBA, Research Professor at King's College London
Nick Bowes, Political Adviser to the Shadow Justice Secretary, Sadiq Khan MP
Will Brett, Electoral Reform Society
Viki Cooke, Co-Founding Director, Britain Thinks
Katie Ghose, Chief Executive, Electoral Reform Society
Rt Hon Dominic Grieve QC MP
Jack Fletcher, Head of Whips Office
Matthew Hanney, Special Adviser to Nick Clegg
Professor Robert Hazell CBE, Director, Constitution Unit, University College London
Hilary Jackson, Associate, Constitution Unit, UCL, formerly in Northern Ireland Office
Professor Michael Keating FBA, University of Aberdeen, Chair, ESRC Scottish Centre on Constitutional Change
Thomas Kohut, Policy Manager, Public Policy, Research & Higher Education, British Academy
Jamiesha Majevadia, Policy Adviser, Public Policy, British Academy
Dr Natasha McCarthy, Head of Policy, British Academy
Professor Iain McLean FBA, Professor of Politics, Nuffield College, University of Oxford
Bob Morris, Honorary Senior Research Fellow, Constitution Unit, UCL
Ben Page, Chief Executive, Ipsos MORI
Lord Purvis of Tweed, Liberal Democrat, chair APPG on Devolution and Decentralisation
Harvey Redgrave, Policy Adviser to Ed Miliband
Dr Alan Renwick, Associate Professor, Politics and International Relations, University of Reading
Jake Richards, Adviser to Stephen Twigg MP
Alexandra Runswick, Director, Unlock Democracy
Professor Meg Russell, Deputy Director of the Constitution Unit, University College London
Professor Graham Smith, Research Director, Centre for the Study of Democracy, University of Westminster
Ken Sutton, Director, Home Office
Alex Thomas, Deputy Director, Constitution Directorate, Cabinet Office
Alan Trench, Honorary Senior Research Associate, Constitution Unit, University College London
Stephen Twigg MP, Shadow Minister (Political and Constitutional Reform)
Brian Walker, Honorary Senior Research Fellow, Constitution Unit UCL

Sign up to our email newsletters