First World War Shipwrecks: Engaging Public Interest in the War at Sea

Thu 22 Jan 2015 - Mon 25 Apr 2016, 09:30 - 17:00

British Academy, 10-11 Carlton House Terrace, SW1Y 5AH

This Policy Forum brought together an invited audience to consider public policy towards First World War shipwrecks. Case studies from a range of initiatives in the course of the Centenary provided a backdrop to discussing the challenges and opportunities presented by First World War shipwrecks in home waters and abroad. This Policy Forum sought to mark the First World War Centenary and contribute to improved public engagement with this legacy for the future. 


Dee Allen, Marine Management Organisation
Ian Barnes, National Trust
Mark Beattie-Edwards, Nautical Archaeology Society
David Blackman, Nautical Archaeology Society
Roger Bowdler, Director of Designation, Historic England
Amanda Bowens, Maritime Archaeology Trust
Alison Cathie, Honor Frost Foundation
Professor Sir Barry Cunliffe CBE FBA, University of Oxford/Chair of the BA/HFF Steering Committee on Underwater Cultural Heritage
John Curtis, Honor Frost Foundation
Arturo Rey Da Silva, Secretariat of the 2001 Convention on the Protection of the Underwater Cultural Heritage 
Sally Evans, Cotswold Archaeology
Eugene Farrell, British Sub-Aqua Club
Dr Antony Firth, Fjordr Limited
Toby Gane, Institute for Archaeologists, Maritime Affairs Group
John Gribble, Maritime and Underwater Cultural Heritage Unit: South African Heritage Resources Agency
Deanna Groom, Royal Commission on the Ancient and Historical Monuments of Wales
Sarah Hasan, Nautical Archaeology Society
Sandra Henry, CMA (U/Ulster)
Mike Heyworth, Council for British Archaeology
Alison Kentuck, Maritime and Coastguard Agency
Nick Lambert, NL Associates Ltd
John Lewis, Society of Antiquaries of London
Joan Porter MacIver, Honor Frost Foundation
Jane Maddocks, British Sub-Aqua Club
Jamiesha Majevadia, British Academy
Innes McCartney
Rory McNeary, DOE Northern Ireland, Marine Division
David Morris, Marine Management Organisation
Hugh Murphy
Adrian Olivier, Nautical Archaeology Society (NAS)
Marnix Pieters, Flanders Heritage Agency
Miranda Richardson, International Journal of Nautical Archaeology
Philip Robertson, Historic Scotland
Dr Robb Robinson, Maritime Historical Studies Centre, University of Hull 
Matt Skelhorn, Ministry of Defence, Salvage and Marine Operations
Dr Philip Weir, War Heritage All-Party Parliamentary Group
Peter Wolrich, Honor Frost Foundation
Robert Yorke, Joint Nautical Archaeology Policy Committee

British Academy and Honor Frost Foundation Steering Committee on Underwater Cultural Heritage

In 2012 the British Academy and the Honor Frost Foundation set up a committee to work on projects related to underwater cultural heritage and maritime archaeology. The BA/HFF Steering Committee on Underwater Cultural Heritage was formally established in March 2013. The Steering Committee’s primary purpose is to advise on and to help to shape policy, and to develop programmes in relation to the safeguarding of Underwater Cultural Heritage for the British Academy and the Honor Frost Foundation. Read our briefing note on the 2001 UNESCO Convention on the Protection of Underwater Cultural Heritage.

Sign up to our email newsletters