Distant and neglected voices: women in the history of linguistics

Tue 28 - Wed 29 Jun 2016, 09:30 - 17:00

The Royal Society, 6-9 Carlton House Terrace, London, SW1Y 5AG

Event ended

Convenors: Dr Helena Sanson, University of Cambridge; and Professor Wendy Ayres-Bennett, University of Cambridge

The role played by women in the history of linguistics has not yet received the scholarly attention it deserves, despite current interest in linguistic historiography and questions of language and gender. This conference will consider the contribution of women as linguists in different linguistic and cultural contexts, both European and non-European. The focus will be particularly on the period 1500 until the institutionalisation of linguistics as a discipline in the twentieth century. The term 'linguist' will be understood broadly, to include contributions offered to the discipline and the study of language structure and function outside more institutionalised and traditional frameworks.

Please click here for a copy of the provisional conference programme.

Speakers include:
Professor Sylvie Archaimbault, Université Paris-Sorbonne
Professor Charlotte Brewer, University of Oxford
Professor Tove Bull, University of Tromsø
Professor María Luisa Calero Vaquera, University of Córdoba
Dr David Cram, University of Oxford
Dr Mariarosaria Gianninoto, Université Stendhal-Grenoble 3
Professor John Joseph, University of Edinburgh
Dr Petros Karatsareas, University of Westminster
Professor Andrew Linn, University of Westminster
Dr Anneli Luhtala, University of Helsinki
Professor Bernhard Maier, University of Tübingen
Professor Nicola McLelland, University of Nottingham
Professor Lynda Muggleston, University of Oxford
Professor Momoko Nakamura, University of Kanto Gakuin
Ms Eve Okura, University of Hawaii at Manoa
Dr Helma Pasch, University of Cologne
Professor Carol Percy, University of Toronto
Professor Marli Quadros Leite, University of São Paulo
Professor Fatima Sadiqi, University of Fez
Professor Jane Simpson, Australian National University
Professor Toril Swan, University of Tromsø
Professor Margaret Thomas, Boston College
Professor Marijke van der Wal, University of Leiden
Professor Nigel Vincent FBA, The University of Manchester

Sign up to our email newsletters