Partition Machine: The 1923 Treaty of Lausanne 100 Years Later

Thu 10 - Fri 11 Aug 2023, 09:00 - 17:00

For more information or any queries, please email [email protected]

Signing Of The Treaty Of Lausanne In 1924
Advanced Research Centre, Seminar Room 237, University of Glasgow

British Academy/Wellcome Trust Conferences bring together scholars and specialists from around the world to explore themes related to health and wellbeing.

Partitions are everywhere. The media and policy spaces are riddled with calls for new partitions, as in Syria, Afghanistan, and Iraq, or the reignition of tensions by the unravelling of old ones, like in post-Brexit Northern Ireland and Kashmir. How did we get here? What insights could we draw from partitions’ brutal past, their lived experiences, and their shared intellectual genealogies to understand them in contemporary times?

Partition Machine is a two-day conference at the University of Glasgow on the centennial of the 1923 Treaty of Lausanne to examine how the Treaty was the genesis of the norm for territorial divisions as a “solution” to protracted political violence in the world. The conference shall foreground new research on territorial divisions, their travelogues, and worldmaking influence in order to better understand the world that partitions have made in the short twentieth century.

Conference convenor:
Dr Jayita Sarkar
, University of Glasgow

Speakers across the two-day conference include:

Professor Cemil Aydin, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Dr Debjani Bhattacharyya, University of Zurich

Dr Oli Charbonneau, University of Glasgow

Professor Michael Charney, SOAS

Dr Hannah-Louise Clark, University of Glasgow

Professor Faisal Devji, University of Oxford

Dr Arie Dubnov, George Washington University

Dr Sarah Dunstan, University of Glasgow

Professor Yasmin Khan, University of Oxford

Professor Laura Robson, Pennsylvania State University

Dr Jonathan Saha, Durham University

Professor Glenda Sluga, European University Institute

Dr Benjamin Thomas White, University of Glasgow

Dr Akhila Yechury, University of St Andrews

Professor Peter Jackson, University of Glasgow

Professor Ali Ansari, University of St Andrews

Dr Georgios Giannakopoulos, City University of London

Professor Willem Van Schendel, University of Amsterdam

Professor Charles Maier, Harvard University

Dr Conor Mulvagh, University College Dublin

Dr Ali Raza, Lahore University of Management Sciences

Dr Philip Grobien, University of St Andrews

Dr Faiz Ahmed, Brown University

Dr Ozan Ozavci, University of Utrecht

Book tickets

Please download programme here

Funded by DSIT

If you have any questions about this event please refer to our events FAQs or email [email protected]

Image: Keystone-France/Gamma-Keystone via Getty Images

Organised in partnership with:

Sign up to our email newsletters