Skip Content

The British Academy Medal

The British Academy Medals are awarded annually and recognise outstanding achievement that has transformed understanding of a particular subject or field of study in any of the disciplines supported by the Academy, that is, in any branch of the humanities and social sciences.

Up to 3 medals may be awarded each year, depending on the case assembled. The Medals were first awarded in 2013.


The achievement for which candidates may be nominated is likely to be (a) a publication of particularly outstanding significance for its discipline, in the form of a book, a journal article or other medium appropriate to the discipline concerned, or (b) a body of work assembled over a longer period. Candidates may be of any age, nationality or country of residence. If the nomination relates to a publication, the nominated work must be available in English. 

How to nominate

Nominations may only be made by Fellows of the British Academy. Nomination forms are available from the Fellows area of the British Academy website.

Nominating body: Events & Prizes Committee

Previous Winners

2017  Professor Antony Griffiths FBA for The Print Before Photography: An Introduction to European Printmaking 1550-1820 (British Museum Press, 2016)

2017  Professor Avi Shlaim FBA, University of Oxford for Lifetime Achievement.

2017  Professor Dame Marina Warner DBE CBE FBA, Birkbeck, University of London for Lifetime Achievement.

2016  Professor Tim Blanning FBA for Frederick the Great: King of Prussia (Allen Lane, 2015)

2016  Dr Susan E. Kelly for Charters of Chertsey Abbey (British Academy, 2015) and Charters of Christ Church Canterbury (British Academy, 2013)

2016  Professor David Lowenthal FBA for The Past is a Foreign Country – Revisited (Cambridge University Press, 2015)

2015  Professor Patricia Clavin for Securing The World Economy: The Reinvention of the League of Nations 1920-1946 (Oxford University Press, 2013)

2015  Professor R F Foster FBA for Vivid Faces: The Revolutionary Generation in Ireland 1890-1923 (Allen Lane, 2014)

2015  Professor Robert Fowler FBA for Early Greek Mythography Volume 2: Commentary (Oxford University Press, 2013)

2014  Professor David Luscombe FBA for The Letter Collection of Peter Abelard and Heloise(Oxford University Press, 2013)

2014  Professor Geoffrey Parker FBA for Global Crisis: War, Climate Change and Catastrophe in the Seventeenth Century (Yale University Press, 2013)

2014  Professor Thomas Piketty for Capital in the 21st Century (Harvard University Press, 2013, English edition 2014)

2013  Professor David Abulafia FBA, University of Cambridge, for The Great Sea: a Human History of the Mediterranean (Penguin Books, 2011)

2013  Dr Noel Malcolm FBA, All Souls College Oxford, for Thomas Hobbes's Leviathan (Oxford University Press, 2012)

2013  Professor Tim Shallice FBA, Institute of Cognitive Neuroscience, UCL, and Dr Richard Cooper, Birkbeck, University of London, for The Organisation of Mind (Oxford University Press, 2011)

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.