Skip Content

Brian Barry Prize in Political Science

The Brian Barry Prize, worth £2500, is awarded annually for excellence in political science, as displayed in an unpublished essay.

The award is made in partnership with Cambridge University Press and the British Journal of Political Science in honour of Brian Barry, a distinguished Fellow of the Academy and founding editor of the Journal.  The winning entry will be published in the British Journal of Political Science. The prize was first awarded in 2014.

Professor Brian Barry FBA (1936-2009) was a distinguished moral and political philosopher, widely credited with having fruitfully brought together analytic philosophy and political science, political theory and social choice theory. In 1988 he was elected a Fellow of the British Academy, to which he gave valuable service.


Eligible submissions must be an essay that has not been previously published and is not under consideration for publication elsewhere. The essay can address any topic in political science, as covered by the British Journal of Political Science, but essays in fields related to the work of Brian Barry will be especially welcome. Essays may be submitted by anyone in possession of a first degree. Entries should be 8,000 to 10,000 words, with an abstract of no more than 100 words. Submissions must be in accordance with the Journal's style sheet. The prize is not open to current employees of the British Academy or Cambridge University Press, or members of the editorial team of the British Journal of Political Science.

How to submit

Please complete the submission form found on the right hand side of this page, and submit your essay and form electronically to by 31 January 2018. Please also direct any queries about the prize to this email address.

Nominations will be considered by Political Studies: Political Theory, Government and International Relations Section (S5)

Previous Winners

2017  Dr Jonathan White, London School of Economics and Political Science, for 'The Ethics of Political Alliance'

2016  Professor William Roberts Clark, Texas A&M University, Professor Matt Golder, Pennsylvania State University, and Professor Sona N. Golder, Pennsylvania State University for 'An Exit, Voice, and Loyalty Model of Politics'

2015  Dr Parashar Kulkarni, New York University, for 'Are There Cultural Prerequisites to Effective Property Rights?: Evidence from Inheritance Rights of Widows in Colonial India'

2014  Dr Helder De Schutter, KU Leuven, and Dr Lea Ypi, LSE, for 'Mandatory Citizenship for Immigrants'

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.