Council is the overarching governing body of the Academy. It is made up of the President, the Vice-Presidents, and 15 Ordinary Members.

2022 – 2023 council

Professor Julia Black CBE

President of the British Academy


Professor Simon Swain

Vice-President (Research and Higher Education Policy)

Professor Lindsay Farmer

Vice-President (Publishing & Conferences)

Professor Cyprian Broodbank

Vice-President (British International Research Institutes)

Professor Graeme Barker CBE

Ordinary Member

Professor Ian Christie

Ordinary Member

Professor Felix Driver

Ordinary Member

Professor Marianne Elliott OBE

Ordinary Member

Professor Angela McRobbie

Ordinary Member

Hetan Shah


Sign up to our email newsletters