Skip Content

Nayef Al-Rodhan Prize for Global Cultural Understanding 2019

Nominations for the 2019 Prize have now Closed

Nominations for the 2019 Prize have now closed.

The shortlist will be announced on Tuesday 10 September. 


28 January                  

Nominations open
1 April                          Nominations close
10 September              Shortlist announced
30 October                  Winner announced

Eligibility criteria

The Nayef Al-Rodhan Prize is awarded annually by the British Academy to the author of the best (in the opinion of the judges) eligible non-fiction book that contributes to global cultural understanding for a wider public audience.

a) The Prize rewards books that best contribute to improving cultural understanding to public adult audiences. The judges are looking for work that they deem accessible, rigorous, clear, engaging and has a high impact on the reader.

b) Nominated persons can be of any nationality, based anywhere in the world and work in any language provided that the nominated work has been published in the UK, in English between the 1 March 2018 and 31 March 2019.

c) E-books may be submitted, on the basis that three bound copies are submitted for the jury’s consideration by the submission deadline (1 April), and that if the book is shortlisted it will be made publicly available in print by the time of the shortlist announcement (10 September).

d) Previously winning any other prize does not affect a book’s eligibility.

e) Previously winning the Nayef Al-Rodhan Prize does not affect an author’s eligibility to enter, provided the entry is for a different non-fiction book.

f) Translated books are eligible if the UK publication coincides with the dates outlined in (a) above.

g) Edited volumes are not eligible.

h) Children’s books and picture books are not eligible for this Prize.

i) Authors must be living at the time of submission.


j) Publishers must submit three copies of the book they wish to nominate to: Nayef Al-Rodhan Prize, 10-11 Carlton House Terrace, SW1Y 5AH

k) Publishers may be called upon to submit up to 12 additional copies of a nominated book.

l) By entering the Prize, publishers and authors of the shortlisted titles are agreeing to work co-operatively with the Prize team in promoting the shortlisted book and the Prize, including the production of any digital media around the time of the shortlist and winner announcement.

m) The winning title must display the words ‘Winner of the Nayef Al-Rodhan Prize for Global Cultural Understanding’ on all subsequent printings, according to the Prize’s brand-guidelines, unless otherwise agreed.

n) Shortlisted titles must display the words ‘Shortlisted for the Nayef Al-Rodhan Prize for Global Cultural Understanding’ on all subsequent printings, according to the Prize’s brand-guidelines unless otherwise agreed

o) There is no entry fee for nominating books. However, in doing so publishers of the shortlisted books agree that they will contribute to costs incurred by the author’s travel and accommodation around the ceremony in October 2019.

p) Judges also have the right to call in books that have not been put forward.

q) Publishers must declare if there are any previous or ongoing cases of libel with a nominated book.

r) It is the discretion of the administration team and the Jury as to whether a book is eligible and fits the subject matter. Their decision is final, and no conversation will be entered into.

s) The Prize is managed by the British Academy, to whom all enquiries about the application of these regulations should be addressed.


General enquiries about the Prize should be sent to

All media enquiries regarding the Prize should be directed to