Skip Content

Brian Barry Prize in Political Science

The Brian Barry Prize, worth £2500, is awarded annually for excellence in political science, as displayed in an unpublished essay.

The award is made in partnership with Cambridge University Press and the British Journal of Political Science in honour of Brian Barry, a distinguished Fellow of the Academy and founding editor of the Journal.  The winning entry will be published in the British Journal of Political Science. The prize was first awarded in 2014.

Professor Brian Barry FBA (1936-2009) was a distinguished moral and political philosopher, widely credited with having fruitfully brought together analytic philosophy and political science, political theory and social choice theory. In 1988 he was elected a Fellow of the British Academy, to which he gave valuable service.

Submissions for the 2019 Brian Barry Prize have now closed. 

2018 Winner

Zeynep PamukZeynep Pamuk is a Supernumerary Fellow in Politics at St John's College, University of Oxford. She holds a PhD in Political Science from Harvard University (2017) and a BA in Ethics, Politics & Economics from Yale University (2011). Her research interests lie in the intersection of political theory, the philosophy of science and social science, and social epistemology. Her current book project examines the role of experts in democracies, with a focus on the relationship between scientific and political authority.

"I'm very honored and delighted to have received this prize. Brian Barry dedicated his career to exploring the interrelationship of democracy and justice and traced its implications for the provision of public goods. I'm proud to be able to carry this work forward in my own research on the relationship between science and politics in the funding of scientific research."

Previous Winners

2017  Dr Jonathan White, London School of Economics and Political Science, for 'The Ethics of Political Alliance'

2016  Professor William Roberts Clark, Texas A&M University, Professor Matt Golder, Pennsylvania State University, and Professor Sona N. Golder, Pennsylvania State University for 'An Exit, Voice, and Loyalty Model of Politics'

2015  Dr Parashar Kulkarni, New York University, for 'Are There Cultural Prerequisites to Effective Property Rights?: Evidence from Inheritance Rights of Widows in Colonial India'

2014  Dr Helder De Schutter, KU Leuven, and Dr Lea Ypi, LSE, for 'Mandatory Citizenship for Immigrants'