Skip Content

Past Presidents of the British Academy

1902–07  The Rt Hon Lord (Donald) Reay
1907–09  Sir E Maunde Thompson
1909–10  Mr S H Butcher
1911–13  Sir Adolphus W Ward
1913–17  The Rt Hon Viscount (James) Bryce of Dechmont
1917–21  Sir Frederic G Kenyon
1921–28  The Rt Hon (Arthur) the Earl of Balfour
1928–32  The Rt Hon H A L Fisher
1932–36  Dr J W Mackail
1936–40  Sir W David Ross
1940–46  Sir John H Clapham
1946–50  Sir Harold I Bell
1950–54  Sir Charles K Webster
1954–58  Sir George N Clark
1958–62  Sir C Maurice Bowra
1962–67  Lord (Lionel) Robbins
1967–71  Sir Kenneth C Wheare
1971–74  Sir Denys L Page
1974–78  Sir Isaiah Berlin
1978–81  Sir Kenneth Dover
1981–85  The Revd Professor W O Chadwick
1985–89  Lord (Randolph) Quirk
1989–93  Sir Anthony Kenny
1993–97  Sir Keith Thomas
1997–2001  Sir Tony Wrigley
2001–05  Viscount (Garry) Runciman of Doxford
2005–09  Baroness O’Neill
2009–13  Professor Sir Adam Roberts
2013–17 Baron (Nicholas) Stern of Brentford