Record number of women elected to the British Academy

22 Jul 2022

The British Academy has welcomed to its Fellowship a record number of female academics in recognition of their achievements in the humanities and social sciences.

This year a total of 85 Fellows have been elected to the Fellowship. Fifty-two Fellows were elected from 24 universities across the UK. Of those, 29 (56%) are women – the highest proportion of women ever elected. The Fellowship has elected a further 29 Corresponding Fellows (55% female) from universities in North America, India, South Africa, Hong Kong, Lebanon and Tanzania, as well as four Honorary Fellows.

The Honorary Fellows are:

  • Professor Dame Anne Johnson – Professor of Infectious Disease Epidemiology, Co-Director UCL Health of the Public; President, UK Academy of Medical Sciences
  • Bronwen Maddox – Director, Institute for Government; incoming Director, Chatham House
  • Professor David Olusoga – Professor of Public History, University of Manchester
  • Professor Benjamin Zephaniah – Professor of Poetry and Creative Writing, Brunel University; Visiting Professor, De Montfort University.

The newly elected Fellows represent a diverse range of specialisms, including disability and law (Professor Anna Lawson), English and comparative literature studies (Professor Pablo Mukherjee), African history (Professor David McBeath Anderson), education and social stratification (Professor Cristina Iannelli), practical theology and pastoral care (Rev Professor John Swinton), and the interface of law and technology (Professor Mireille Hildebrandt).

The new Fellows of the British Academy join a community of over 1,600 leading minds that make up the UK’s national academy for the humanities and social sciences. Current Fellows include the classicist Professor Dame Mary Beard, the historian Professor Rana Mitter and philosopher Professor Baroness Onora O’Neill, while current Honorary Fellows include Melvyn Bragg, Baroness Brenda Hale and Gary Younge.

Welcoming the new Fellows, Professor Julia Black, President of the British Academy, said:

"I am delighted to welcome these distinguished and pioneering scholars to our Fellowship. I am equally delighted that we have so many new female Fellows. While I hope this means that the tide is finally turning for women in academia, there is still much to do to make the research world diverse and open to all.

“With our new Fellows’ expertise and insights, the Academy is better placed than ever to open new seams of knowledge and understanding and to enhance the wellbeing and prosperity of societies around the world. I congratulate each of our new Fellows on their achievement and look forward to working with them.”

The full list of this year’s new UK, Corresponding and Honorary Fellows:

UK Fellows

Corresponding Fellows

  • Professor Rustom Bharucha, Emeritus Professor of Theatre and Performance Studies, Jawaharlal Nehru University
  • Professor Timothy Brook, Professor of Chinese History and Republic of China Chair, Department of History, University of British Columbia 
  • Professor Linda Chisholm, Professor, Centre for Education Rights and Transformation, Faculty of Education, University of Johannesburg 
  • Professor Daniel Chua, Mr and Mrs Hung Hing-Ying Professor in the Arts and Chair Professor of Music, The University of Hong Kong
  • Professor Dr Irene De Jong, Emeritus Professor of Ancient Greek, University of Amsterdam
  • Professor Dr Mayke De Jong, Emerita Professor of Medieval History, Utrecht University
  • Professor Dr Mamadou Diawara, Professor of Anthropology, and Director of the Centre for Interdisciplinary African Studies (ZIAF), Goethe University of Frankfurt
  • Professor Jennifer Eberhardt, Professor of Organizational Behavior, Professor of Psychology, and Morris M Doyle Centennial Professor of Public Policy, Stanford University
  • Professor Barry Eichengreen, George C Pardee and Helen N Pardee Chair and Distinguished Professor of Economics and Political Science, University of California, Berkeley
  • Professor Suraiya Faroqhi, Professor of History, Ibn Haldun University
  • Professor Simon Gikandi, Robert Schirmer Professor of English and Chair, Department of English, Princeton University
  • Professor Andre Gingrich, Full Member, Austrian Academy of Sciences
  • Professor Evelyn Goh, Shedden Professor of Strategic Policy Studies, The Australian National University
  • Professor Sari Hanafi, Professor of Sociology, Department of Sociology, Anthropology and Media Studies, Chair, Islamic Studies program, Director, Center for Arab and Middle Eastern Studies, American University of Beirut
  • Professor Mireille Hildebrandt, Professor of Interfacing Law and Technology, Faculty of Law and Criminology, Vrije Universiteit; Professor of Smart Environments, Data Protection and the Rule of Law, Science Faculty, Radboud University
  • Professor Victoria Kahn, Katherine Bixby Hotchkis Professor of English and Professor of Comparative Literature, University of California, Berkeley
  • Professor Dr Pauline Kleingeld, Professor of Philosophy, University of Groningen
  • Professor Ann Langley FRSC, Emerita Professor, HEC Montréal; Distinguished Research Environment Professor, Warwick Business School
  • Professor Margaret Levi, Professor of Political Science, Stanford University
  • Professor Diana Liverman, Regents Professor of Geography and Development, University of Arizona
  • Professor Deborah Mayo, Professor Emerita of Philosophy, Virginia Tech
  • Professor Chika Okeke-Agulu, Professor, Department of African American Studies and Department of Art and Archaeology, and Director, Program in African Studies, Princeton University 
  • Professor Shanti Pappu, Founder/Secretary and Research Head, Sharma Centre for Heritage Education; Visiting Professor, Humanities and Social Sciences, Krea University
  • Professor Daniel Potts, Professor of Ancient Near Eastern Archaeology and History, Institute for the Study of the Ancient World, New York University
  • Professor Wlodek Rabinowicz, Professor Emeritus of Practical Philosophy, Lund University
  • Professor John Rickford, J E Wallace Sterling Emeritus Professor of the Humanities, Stanford University
  • Professor Issa Shivji, Professor Emeritus, School of Law, University of Dar-Es-Salaam
  • Professor Kathryn Tanner, Frederick Marquand Professor of Systematic Theology, Yale University Divinity School
  • Professor Amy Stuart Wells, Professor and Director, Sociology and Education Program and the Reimagining Education Summer Institute and Advanced Certificate Programs, Teachers College, Columbia University.

Honorary Fellows

Contact the press office

For further information contact the Press Office on [email protected]  / 07500 010 432.

Sign up to our email newsletters