Skip Content

Dorothy Bishop, Karalyn Patterson and Lord Stern elected Fellows of the Royal Society

News •

The British Academy notes with pleasure the election of three of its Fellows as Fellows of the Royal Society – psychologists Professor Dorothy Bishop and Professor Karalyn Patterson, and economist Lord Stern. 
Dr Robin Jackson Chief Executive & Secretary of the Academy, said: "It is a rare distinction to be elected to the regular Fellowship of both the British Academy and the Royal Society, and these Fellows join a select group accorded this recognition. Lord Stern is the fifth President of the British Academy to be elected to the Fellowship of the Royal Society". 
The other four Presidents to be elected FRS are Lords Bryce (1913-17), Earl Balfour (1921-8), Rt Hon H A L Fisher (1928-32) and Baroness O’Neill (2005-9, Hon FRS).