Skip Content

Forum on Healthcare Reform with Ted Marmor

On 11 December 2012 the British Academy held a forum on healthcare reform.

On 11 December 2012 the British Academy held a forum on healthcare reform. 

The forum heard from some of the British Academy’s foremost thinkers in this area, including corresponding fellow, Professor Ted Marmor (Yale University), who helped define the rules for the landmark introduction of Medicare in the 1960s and has subsequently advised Washington administrations, including President Obama’s, on healthcare reforms. 

Professor Marmor, along with an expert panel, discussed the trade in ideas across the Atlantic about health policy.

The forum was chaired by Professor Albert Weale FBA, and included short presentations from a panel of speakers: 

  • Professor Ted Marmor FBA (Yale University)
  • Professor Rudolf Klein FBA (University of Bath)
  • Professor Julian Le Grand FBA (LSE)
  • Dr Jennifer Dixon (Nuffield Trust)

List of participants

Mr Jonathan D. Algar, Bright Blue
Ms Emily Arkell, Cancer Research UK
Professor Gwyn Bevan, LSE
Mr Elliot Bidgood, Civitas
Ms Frances Blunden, NHS Confederation
Ms Nida Broughton, Social Market Foundation
Ms Laura Bunt, NESTA
Dr Jennifer Dixon, The Nuffield Trust
Dr Tim Doran, University of Manchester
Professor Steve Field, NHS South Birmingham PCT
Ms Helen Haggart, British Academy
Professor Rudolf Klein FBA, University of Bath
Professor Julian Le Grand FBA, LSE
Professor Peter Littlejohns, King’s College London
Ms Jamiesha Majevadia, British Academy
Professor Shula Marks FBA, School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London
Professor Isaac Marks, Institute of Psychiatry, University of London
Professor Ted Marmor FBA, Yale University
Ms Emma Mckay, British Academy
Dr Ross Millar, University of Birmingham
Ms Vicki Nash, Mind
Dr Vivienne Nathanson, BMA
Ms Sharmila Nebhrajani, Association of Medical Research Charities
Professor Kieke Okma, Columbia University
Professor Onora O’Neill FBA, University of Cambridge
Dr Geoffrey Rivett, NHS History
Professor Sir Adam Roberts PBA, British Academy
Dr Benedict Rumbold, The Nuffield Trust
Professor Peter C Smith, Imperial College London
Sir Richard Thompson, Royal College of Physicians
Professor Albert Weale FBA, University College London