Skip Content

Samuel Johnson Prize 2015 Shortlist Event

This special evening at the British Academy comprised of authors shortlisted for this year’s Samuel Johnson Prize for Non-Fiction discussing their books.

The Samuel Johnson Prize for Non-Fiction is the UK's premier prize for non-fiction books, covering subjects from current affairs, history, politics, science, sport, travel, biography, autobiography and the arts. Past winners of the prestigious £20,000 prize include Antony Beevor, Margaret MacMillan and James Shapiro.

The chair of judges for 2015 is Pulitzer prize-winning historian and journalist Anne Applebaum, supported by Associate Editor at The Economist Emma Duncan, New Scientist Editor Sumit Paul-Choudhury, Oxford University’s Professor Rana Mitter FBA and former Controller of Film and Drama and head of Film 4 Tessa Ross.

The six shortlisted titles in contention for this year’s prize are:

Jonathan Bate FBA, Ted Hughes: The Unauthorised Life
Robert Macfarlane, Landmarks
Laurence Scott, The Four-Dimensional Human
Steve Silberman, Neurotribes: The Legacy of Autism and How to Think Smarter About People Who Think Differently
Emma Sky, The Unravelling: High Hopes and Missed Opportunities in Iraq
Samanth Subramanian, This Divided Island

Find out more about the Samuel Johnson Prize.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.